

Enquiries: Sandra Sooklal Tel: 012 315 5510 Fax: 012 315 5045 E-Mail: Sandra.Sooklal@treasury.gov.za

### **All accounting Officers**

### OFFICE OF THE ACCOUNTANT-GENERAL PRACTICE NOTE 3 OF 2007/08

# BANK ACCOUNT DETAILS IN TERMS OF SECTION 32(1) OF THE DIVISION OF REVENUE ACT, 2007 (ACT NO. 01 OF 2007) - DORA

## **Purpose**

1. The purpose of this practice note is to provide all transferring national officers with the bank account details of each province in terms of section 32(1) of the Division of Revenue Act, 2007 (Act No. 01 of 2007).

### **General arrangements**

### Intergovernmental Cash Coordination IGCC accounts of province

2. The investment accounts held in the South African Reserve Bank (SARB) for the purposes of the Equitable Share transfers to Provincial Revenue Funds in terms of section 4(3) of the DORA are as follows:

Province	Bank	IGCC Account Number	Branch Code
National Treasury	SA Reserve Bank	95158189	900145
Eastern Cape	SA Reserve Bank	95211292	900145
Free State	SA Reserve Bank	95211195	900145
Gauteng	SA Reserve Bank	95221263	900145
KwaZulu-Natal	SA Reserve Bank	95221271	900145
Limpopo	SA Reserve Bank	95221298	900145
Mpumalanga	SA Reserve Bank	95221301	900145
Northern Cape	SA Reserve Bank	95191283	900145
North West	SA Reserve Bank	95221328	900145
Western Cape	SA Reserve Bank	95221336	900145

### Exchequer Account and/or Primary bank account

3. The Exchequer Account and/or Primary bank account at the Commercial Bank for the transfer of all National Conditional Grants are as follows:

Province	Bank	Account Number	Branch Code
Eastern Cape	First National Bank, Bisho	55990019893	210619
Free State	ABSA	404 824 7555	630734
Gauteng	ABSA	40 64929329	637956
KwaZulu-Natal	Standard Bank	05 298 424 9	05752500
Limpopo	ABSA	404 791 3408	630648
Mpumalanga	Standard Bank, Nelspruit	330 670 034	002852
Northern Cape	Standard Bank	043 396 054	051302
North West	First National Bank, Mafeking	62 0157 48 108	240640
Western Cape	Nedbank	1452 045 143	145 209

## Gauteng Rapid Rail Link - Section 16 OF DORA:

4. Funds will flow from the National Department of Transport to the Gauteng provincial Government as articulated in section 16 of the Division of Revenue Act, 2007 as indicated below:

# Step 1: Transfer from the Paymaster-General (PMG) Account of the National Department of Transport (DOT) to IGCC Account

5. The national DOT PMG account held in the SARB in terms of Section 16(2) of the Division of Revenue Act. 2007.

Department	Bank	PMG Account Number	Branch Code
PMG Account for the National Department of transport	SA Reserve Bank	80332412	910145

## Step 2: Transfer from Intergovernmental Cash Coordination IGCC accounts for Gauteng Provincial Government to Provincial Revenue Fund

6. The Gauteng IGCC account held in the SARB in terms of Section 16(2) of the Division of Revenue Act, 2007.

Department	Bank	IGCC Account Number	Branch Code
IGCC for the Gauteng	SA Reserve Bank	95221115	900145

# Step 3: Transfer from Gauteng Provincial Revenue Fund (Exchequer Account and/or primary bank account) to PMG Account of the provincial Department of Transport, Roads and Works

7. The Exchequer Account and/or Primary bank account at the Commercial Bank for the transfer of the funding for the Gautrain Rapid Rail Link to the provincial Department of Public Transport, Roads and Works is as follows:

Department	Bank	IGCC Account Number	Branch Code
Gauteng Provincial Revenue Fund (Exchequer Account)	ABSA	40 6492 9329	637956

# Step 4: Paymaster General (PMG) Account for the Gautrain Rapid Rail Link Agency

8. The provincial department of Public Transport, Roads and Works account held at the Commercial Bank in terms of Section 16(2) of the Division of Revenue Act, 2007 is as follows. Until such time as this account is established payments in terms of the PPP Agreement between the Gauteng Provincial Government and the Gautrain concessionaire will be made from the Paymaster-General (PMG) Account of the provincial department of Public Transport, Roads and Works.

Department	Bank	PMG Account Number	Branch Code
Public Transport No.2  – PMG	ABSA	40 9493 0881	637956

### Interim arrangement for delivery of social grants

- 9. The No. 2 PMG account for Social Development in provinces, which had been an interim arrangement between the National Department of Social Development and Provincial Treasuries for the current financial year, will with effect of 1 April 2007 cease to exist.
- 10. No transactions will be allowed through these accounts except in instances where journals are required to regularize transactions amongst the two conditional grants. The balances on these accounts must be zero and the accounts must formally closed by no later 31 May 2007. Provincial Treasuries are further required to confirm the closure of these accounts to the National Treasury in writing.

### **Contact persons**

### Mr Philip Franken

Corporation for Public Deposits (CBD)

Manager

Tel No.: (012) 312-7829 Cell No.: 073 448 2654

### Mr Johan Redelinghuys

National Treasury
Assets and Liabilities Management Division
(Cash Management and Bank Account Configuration)

Tel No.: (012) 315-5297 Cell No.: 082 458 7934

### Mr Kenneth Brown

National Treasury Intergovernmental Relations Division (Conditional Grants – Policy Issues)

Tel No.: (012) 315-5191 Cell No.: 082 908 0457

#### Dr Sandra Sooklal

National Treasury Intergovernmental Relations Division (Conditional Grants – Implementation and Monitoring Issues)

Tel No.: (012) 315-5510 Cell No.: 083 635 1570

### **Mr Rigard Lemmer**

National Treasury Intergovernmental Relations Division (Provincial Payment Schedule)

Tel No.: (012) 315-5821 Cell No.: 082 786 9928

FREEMAN NOMVALO
ACCOUNTANT-GENERAL
DATE: 2 April 2007

**DATE: 3 April 2007**